Born without ACL's in both knees?!

Post here if you are new to the board and not sure where to post your question. Or if your question or comment is of a general nature. The KNEEguru may move it later to a more relevant section if necessary.
AN-Soccer
MICROgeek (<20 posts)
MICROgeek (<20 posts)

Born without ACL's in both knees?!

Post by AN-Soccer »

Just looking for some feedback on a bizarre situation. I am a youth soccer coach and I have a player, an 11 year old boy, who has been having knee problems (a very talented player by the way!).

I have had 2 menisectomies and one ACL reconstruction in the past, and my other ACL is ruptured. I have also trained in Sports Therapy, so I looked at his knee and gave him some exercises for strength and flexibility of muscles around the knee.

His right knee was regularly locking and he felt a nipping pain. I suspected a meniscus tear and recommended his parents see a knee surgeon, which they did.

He has not had an MRI on both knees. His meniscus had a tear on his right knee - BUT, the MRI showed that he was BORN WITHOUT ANTERIOR CRUCIATE LIGAMENTS!!

Obviously, his parents are working with the surgeon to work out a suitable treatment plan for this particularly rare birth defect.

I was wondering if anyone knew of a similair situation or could recommend how I might help his recovery. It looks like he will have to have 2 ACL Constructions performed (not reconstructions of course, as they were never there!)

Also, his parents are considering whether to have both knees done at the same time (probably 6 weeks apart) or to do one and then wait a while for the other.

Any advice or ability to shed some light would be appreciated. Thank you.
Cora
Regular Poster
Regular Poster

Re: Born without ACL's in both knees?!

Post by Cora »

Wow, wish I had some advice. Good for you in helping him out while he is young and will heal better. Keep us posted!